PRESS RELEASE

National Law School of India University, Bengaluru 32ND ANNUAL CONVOCATION

September 22, 2024: The 32nd Annual Convocation of the National Law School of India University was held on Sunday, September 22, 2024 at Dr. Babu Jagjivan Ram Bhavana, Outer Ring Road, Sumanahalli Circle, Bengaluru.

The convocation was presided over by the Chief Justice of India and Chancellor of the University, Hon'ble Dr. Justice D.Y. Chandrachud who conferred degrees to the graduates, and delivered the Presidential Address during the event.

The Chief Guest of the event, Hon'ble Shri. R Venkataramani, Attorney General for India, delivered the Convocation Address and awarded the medals and prizes to the top performers across the academic programmes. Chairman of the Bar Council of India, Shri Manan Kumar Mishra also addressed the gathering on the occasion.

Earlier in the event, Prof (Dr) Sudhir Krishnaswamy, the Vice Chancellor of NLSIU presented the Annual Report of NLSIU. The graduating student address was delivered by Ms. Aditi Sheth, who was the former Co-President of the Student Bar Association (SBA) at NLSIU.

Graduates:

This year, 1079 students graduated from the various academic programmes of NLSIU. This includes:

- 2 from the Ph.D Programme
- 52 from the Master of Public Policy Programme
- 90 from the Master of Laws Programme
- 85 from the Bachelor of Arts and Laws (Honours) Programme and
- 850 students from the Online & Hybrid Education Programmes this includes the Master of Business Laws Degree and seven Postgraduate Diploma programmes.

Medals & Prizes:

The University awarded a total of 48 gold medals to graduates during the convocation. The medals were awarded to 9 BA LLB (Hons) graduates, 6 LLM graduates, 1 MPP graduate, and the 1 MBL graduate from the Online & Hybrid Education programmes. The University also gave certificates to the best performing student in each of the Post Graduate Diploma programmes from the graduating batch of PACE students.

Additionally, one more gold medal was awarded for the <u>27th Annual H.M. Seervai Essay Competition in Constitutional Law</u> (organised by NLSIU) to Abhinav Ravi, II Year BA LLB student from NLU, Delhi. The complete list of gold medalists of this year will be shared separately.